This is a past event. Please join us for the upcoming conference.

Already 650 participants

from 39 countries

on site and online

ru uk

Marek Pawelec

Experienced computer aided translation (CAT) software user and trainer, certified memoQ trainer

Marek Pawelec graduated in Molecular Biology at the Jagiellonian University in 1992 and worked as researcher at faculties of Medicine and Chemistry of the Jagiellonian University, Kraków, Poland.

In 2001 he began working as a full time English to Polish freelance translator: started with literature, later added technical translations of medical, life sciences and chemistry texts.

Translated close to 40 novels and millions words of medical texts, including medical equipment manuals, IVD, pharmacology and clinical trials-related materials.

Experienced computer aided translation (CAT) software user and trainer, certified memoQ trainer. He is interested in technical communication, passionate about terminology, cats and photography.

Efficient Revision in MemoQ

memoQ is a versatile tool intended both for translation and review work. However, many default settings in memoQ are defined with translators, not reviewers in mind. I'm going to present various scenarios for reviewing text both translated in memoQ (offline and online projects) and bilingual imports from different software (e.g. Trados Studio) and show you how to work efficiently employing various memoQ features like penalties for users/TMs/metadata, match insertion threshold or status change.

Regular Expressions Workshop

Regular expressions (regexes for short) are special rules designed to find a text and/or numbers meeting certain criteria and to do something useful with it. An example of „something useful” may include finding all occurrences of a dates in any given format (e.g. 03/24/2013) and converting them to a different format (e.g. 24.03.2013), conversion of number formats, removal of multiple spaces from the whole document in one go or joining incorrectly split paragraphs.

Regular expressions are extremely useful in processing text and numbers when preparing text for translation, for example for cleaning up text extracted from PDF files, and in the translation process itself – one can use regexes in SDL Studio or memoQ to perform a variety of actions. 

The workshop will cover basics of regular expressions and their application in translation practice, from simple Word file corrections to converting text into tags, complex Find and Replace applications and importing non-standard files into a CAT tool of choice. All based on real-life samples from translation practice.

Regular Expressions Workshop (part 2)

Regular Expressions Workshop (part 2)

Это сайт прошедшего мероприятия. Присоединяйтесь к предстоящей конференции!

Уже 650 участников из 39 стран

на месте и онлайн

uk en

Марек Павелец

Тренер по использованию систем автоматизированного перевода (CAT), сертифицированный тренер memoQ

Марек Павелец закончил Ягеллонский университет по специальности «молекулярная биология» в 1992 году и работал научным сотрудником факультета медицины и химии Ягеллонского университета в Кракове, Польша.

В 2001 году он стал переводчиком-фрилансером с английского на польский язык. Начал с литературного перевода, к которому затем добавился технический: переводы текстов по медицине, медико-биологическим наукам и химии.

Перевел около 40 романов и миллионы слов медицинских текстов, включая руководства по эксплуатации медицинского оборудования, материалы по диагностике in vitro, фармакологии и клиническим исследованиям.

Опытный пользователь и тренер по использованию систем автоматизированного перевода (CAT), сертифицированный тренер memoQ. Интересуется технической коммуникацией, увлекается вопросами терминологии и фотографией. Любитель котиков Смеюсь

Эффективное редактирование в memoQ

Программа memoQ — многогранный инструмент, предназначенный и для перевода, и для редактирования. Однако многие настройки по умолчанию в memoQ ориентированы на переводчиков, а не редакторов. Я представлю различные сценарии редактирования текста, как переведенного в memoQ (в автономном режиме и онлайн), так и импортированного в двуязычном формате из другого ПО (например, Trados Studio). При этом я покажу, как эффективно работать, используя различные функции memoQ, такие как штрафные баллы для пользователей/ТМ/метаданных, порог применения совпадений или изменение статуса.

Мастер-класс по регулярным выражениям

Регулярные выражения (коротко — regex, или «регексы») — это специальные правила для поиска текста и/или чисел, соответствующих определенным критериям, что может быть полезно в разных ситуациях. К примеру, так можно найти все случаи написания дат в определенном формате (например, 03/24/2013) и перевести их в другой формат (24.03.2013), конвертировать форматы чисел, одним действием удалить повторяющиеся пробелы во всем документе или объединить неправильно разделенные абзацы.

Регулярные выражения невероятно полезны в работе с текстом и числами при подготовке текста к переводу, например при очистке текста, извлеченного из PDF-файлов, а также в самом процессе перевода: регексы можно использовать в SDL Studio или memoQ для выполнения самых разных действий.

Во время мастер-класса будут рассмотрены основные сведения о регулярных выражениях и их применение в практике перевода: от простых исправлений в файле Word до конвертации текста в теги, сложных операций поиска и замены или импорта нестандартных файлов в выбранный CAT-инструмент. Все примеры основаны на реальных образцах перевода.

Мастер-класс по регулярным выражениям (часть 2)

Мастер-класс по регулярным выражениям (часть 2)